cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OK. I have a 2002 340 Sundancer....

Takin_Bets
Guest Contributor

OK. I have a 2002 340 Sundancer. When in neutral the starboard transmission will sometimes want to pull the boat forward as if the clutches are making contact. I have read in the manual that there is an adjustment in under the levers at the console, and one at the V-Drive transmission. I am extremely handy but admit I am not a mechanic. Is it possible to have this corrected by a Mercruiser mechanic or is this a no repair problem? Thanks

21 REPLIES 21

wingless
Rising Contributor
The helm shift levers are connected by cables to the transmission gearshift lever.

The same engine and transmission are used on port and starboard, the cables are routed to the gearshift lever from opposite directions to cause opposing rotation from identical helm shift lever movement.

That transmission gearshift lever has a detent in the central neutral position.

Start by removing the cable from the lever to determine if the helm neutral position is exactly aligned with the transmission neutral position. If not adjust so they match.

Takin_Bets
Guest Contributor
Thanks wingless!!

d9ever
Guest Contributor
I had a shift problem but adjusted the shift lever at the transmission so the ball detent was aligned properly. It takes a little time to shift then wiggle the lever to make sure the adjustment is correct

Takin_Bets
Guest Contributor
Thanks d9ever.

Seatorn
Guest Contributor