cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I’m a newbie. Inherited a 1999...

Teak
Guest Contributor

I’m a newbie. Inherited a 1999 260-DA. Mechanics appear to be in good shape but needs some cosmetic updates. Any tips or ideas on acquiring topside skins to replace the originals?  Also looking for tips on upholstering or cleaning/changing out the headliner - it has some water stains. 

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8

KevinC
Guest Contributor
I had a 2003 260DA for many years and loved it. If by skins you are referring to the canvas my company is a distributor for Great Lakes Boat Top that was the OEM for Sea Ray for that model. You can get my info from www.covemarine.com and I would be happy to answer any questions. As far as upholstery goes I had alsmost every piece of material or vinyl in the 260 either off and cleaned or sewn and recovered. I can certainly provide some tips. For the headliner it is a foam backed vinyl that is glued in. I would try cleaning with something like Spray 9 before trying to replace. Just as a note try to stay away from chemicals like bleach as they will dry out the vinyl and also cleaners like softscrub can wear off the surface.

-Kevin

fwebster
Guest Contributor
Sea Ray doesn't supply vinyl for boats no longer in production, so even the local SR dealers cannot get OEM seat skins from SR. Yourr best/only source for replacing vinyl seat skins is to get a good local canvas-upholstery shop to recover the seats for you.

mjresq4
Guest Contributor
I used Great Lakes on my 260 and my 340 over the years and both times had excellent results. But sure where you are but there is a guy here that bought yards and yards of upholstery from Sea Ray.

Puck
Guest Contributor
If your vynle is salvageable you might try SEMs vynle paint system before spending large. You get amazing, like new results and you can get the identical sea Ray Mystic White color

KevinC
Guest Contributor