cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just bought my first boat, a 2005...

DestinEd
Guest Contributor

Just bought my first boat, a 2005 220 Sundeck with less than 200 hours and in great shape.  Enjoying it quite a bit in the bay near Destin, FL.  Flushing the engine with the muffs is very difficult considering it is on a lift, but really important since we are in salt water.  After asking a few local places about installing a flush kit and getting no response or a crazy number, I'm looking into it since I've got plenty of mechanical experience on cars.

Anyway, I need to look at a plumbing diagram for the coolant system.  I was told that a 1-1/4" T in the water inlet from the outdrive to the main pump would allow me to flush it while idling using a garden hose - makes sense to me.  I just want to be certain that I have the right hose before cutting.  Mine appears to be red and shows 30mm on the hose.  Can someone point me to the section on cooling system diagrams?

Thx, Ed

17 REPLIES 17

Captain_Zero
Guest Contributor
The red inlet hose is where you would need to put it. I too have decades of car/truck repair under my belt as a transmission rebuilder/ shop owner. Looking at that pipe, thought easy job..... wrong....lol. That pipe is some of the hardest line I have EVER cut. They make a kit sold at West Marine think it's a sureflow. One way check valve, hose connection, all you need. BUT...if old hose so hard, you need to install new hose....and ONLY use the red hose...I tried every other type hose. All will collapse under acceleration and cause engine overheat. End result for me on a 260 sundeck. Use stock engine mercruiser flush adaptor. Once I installed sureflow even with new water pumps would not allow sufficient water flow under hard use... Good luck..lol

Tscannie
Guest Contributor