cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am brand new to owning boats,...

Steamboat
Guest Contributor

I am brand new to owning boats, that being said, I bought an 08 230 Sun Deck, now I find the speedometer and trim indicator don’t work. Where to start?  Thanks, Dan. 

6 REPLIES 6

wingless
Rising Contributor
Welcome to the forum.

Good luck w/ your new boat.

Was the Owner's Manual provided when the boat was purchased? If so, it has documentation of that specific boat and those specific systems.

The boat was built w/ systems from other manufacturers, such as Bennett for the trim tabs, so there may be a Bennett manual in the boat documentation.

Figure out who made the broken systems and examine the manufacturer's documentation.

Provide that info here if there are questions.

Scott3262
Guest Contributor
The Speedo Inlet on the outdrive maybe stopped up you can google that part and find videos on a quick fix. If the backlight isn’t working it could be corrosion on the back at the electrical contact points. A volt meter would tell you more. The trim gauge could be a corroded contact as well. This is assuming the actual tilt does perform as normal.

t-bone
Guest Contributor
I had the same problem when I bought my ‘04 SD. For god knows what reason, the trim sensor wires that come in from the outdrive had been cut. They are two double wires, they looks like the electrical wires from a household lamp. Cables and connections seem to have been 75% of all of my used-boat woes.

Captain_K
Guest Contributor