Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi SR owners,I have a 2009 310...

Mel-O-Di
Guest Contributor

Hi SR owners,

I have a 2009 310 Sundancer.

My joy stick is not functioning. Vessel View says it’s no available. Canceled alarm history and it still won’t work.

Any suggestions?

8 REPLIES 8

Motorvader
Guest Contributor
I have no experience with Mercruiser joysticks (my boat is old school Teleflex throttle and shift cables). However, I do have quite a bit of experience with their throttle and shift actuators and their associated electronic control systems that are connected to the joystick. I worked for one of Mercury Marine's supplier's on this project and can say the joystick is not a DIY service item - this is a very complex system. Your Mercruiser tech will need to run computer diagnostics and probe around with a multimeter to diagnose the problem. Trying to diagnose or repair it yourself could cause significant damage. The joystick it self is likely not the problem. Might be a network communications problem.

Motorvader
Guest Contributor
Just to clarify, the joystick is essentially a set of position encoders that communicate x-y-z position information to the control system. I'm not certain what communication interface is used between joystick and electronic control system. I suspect it's something proprietary since N2K would be too slow.

LLC
Guest Contributor
I had a 2010 450 Sundancer with Zeus pods tied to Cummins diesel engines. Early on, I would encounter your issue with the joy stick. If I shut everything down (including the batteries) and restarted everything, it would often reboot properly.

But maybe 3 or 4 years into ownership aftet still having your issue intermittently, the dealer found there was a software upgrade available. Once that was installed I never had an issue through 2020 when I sold the boat. Might be worth a chat with your dealer.

Seabuz
Guest Contributor