cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a 410 DA with twin 3118...

SeaMax
Guest Contributor

I have a 410 DA with twin 3118 cat diesels. I am not sure when the belts have been changed but I know it is quite a long time ago. I have asked my Marina to change them and today they told me it could take up to two days to change the belts They started by telling me they were draining the antifreeze and at that point I told them to stop. Can anyone tell me if this is anywhere near being close to what should be happening. When I look at it I cannot understand how it could take more than a couple hours per engine to change the belts.  But also I am not a diesel mechanic.

29 REPLIES 29

wingless
Rising Contributor
My Interlink search did not locate a 3118 Caterpillar diesel engine. Could it instead be a 3116 engine?

One way to approach this arena is to use the Factory Service Manual (FSM) for this engine.

The FSM details major and minor service operations, with details about required operations that must be performed in advance of the selected service.

According to this Cat document on page 69 the coolant service life (assuming it passes all the chemical tests) ranges from 3,000 hours / 2 years to 12,000 hours / 6 years, depending on the product and periodic required additives.

https://caterpillar.scene7.com/is/content/Caterpillar/CM20150224-59173-27200

SeaMax
Guest Contributor
Sorry that was a typo, they are 3116 Cats. But the point is not about changing antifreeze. The whole thing is about changing belts and having to drain antifreeze in order to do that. Plus estimating two days to do both engines. Belts are a wear item and I find it hard to believe that Cat or SeaRay would create a situation where it took that long to do a normal maintenance task.

wingless
Rising Contributor